.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Friday, October 07, 2005

Lugar Doesn't Win Nobel Peace Prize

Indiana Senator Dick Lugar and former Georgia Senator Sam Nunn were highly touted to win the 2005 Nobel Peace Prize.
The Nobel Committee has, instead, awarded the prize to the International Atomic Energy Agency and its director general, Mohamed ElBaradei.
It was widely thought that the Nobel Committee would award the prize to individuals or an organization which worked in the area of nuclear non-proliferation in recognition of the 60th anniversary of the first use of atomic weapons.
The bright side for Dick Lugar? Bono was not the winner.

Comments: Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home